Sicily Slip Dress

The Sicily Slip Dress by Sewing Masin is quickly becoming one of my favourite patterns! I have hacked the pattern to make a top and two dresses, but hadn’t made the dress version yet.

When I received this gorgeous satin from Minerva, I knew it was destined to become a Sicily Slip Dress. This satin is a silky charmeuse satin, and is very lightweight and delicate. I was worried it was a little too lightweight, as it seemed a little sheer, but once it was sewn into a dress, it wasn’t sheer at all!

I made View A of the dress in size C. My hips and waist are slightly larger than the size chart for this pattern, but there’s a good amount of ease, so the fit ended up being perfect.

Some tips I have for sewing and cutting satin on the bias:

  • use a rotary cutter and mat if you can!
  • cut everything flat, not on the fold
  • once you’ve cut your pieces, try to handle them as little as possible, as they can stretch out of shape very easily
  • use a fine microtex needle
  • lower your tension and decrease stitch length

A few mods I made were:

  • lengthen the straps a couple inches
  • took the side seams in by an inch on each side below the waist
  • lengthened the hem by 3.5″

I also used a baby hem to hem the dress- I have a reel on my instagram page on how to do this.

The method is basically this: 1. Iron up by the amount you want to hem, minus 1/8″ to the wrong side, sew as close to the edge as possible. 2. Trim the excess off, then fold once more to the wrong side, and sew. This will give you a perfect narrow hem!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started